Sunday, June 22, 2014

Mike Matusow suffers crucial penalty


According to poker news web site live reporting the hand played as follows:

Cameron Tahmasebi raised to 12,000 and Jeet Sketty clicked it to 18,000. Mike Matusow called and so did Fu Wong. Tahmasebi was now all in for 13,500 on third and the three players proceeded to fourth. Matusow bet 6,000, Wong called, Sketty made it 12,000 and Matusow three bet to 18,000. Wong was skeptical and folded.Matusow said, "If I win this pot, everybody will be playing for second."Until sixth, Matusow was betting and had another 4,500 behind, Sketty put him to the test and all turned over their cards.

Wong: {x-}{x-} / {8-Clubs}{Q-Clubs}
 muckTahmasebi: {8-Hearts}{8-Spades} / {9-Hearts}{3-Clubs}{6-Spades}{4-Diamonds} / {6-Clubs}
Sketty: {Q-Diamonds}{10-Hearts} / {10-Clubs}{J-Diamonds}{2-Clubs}{J-Spades} / {5-Hearts}
Matusow: {5-Spades}{7-Clubs} / {6-Hearts}{8-Diamonds}{4-Hearts}{J-Hearts} / {K-Hearts}"

Come on, I deserve this," yelled Matusow, almost losing his voice. The dealer delivered seventh and Matusow started cheering loudly, running away from the tournament area and everybody in the rather silent Amazon room could hear him. Matusow pounded the table in celebration as he continued to laud the hand. He raked in the massive pot with the straight and low and was then given a one round penalty for his "outrageous behavior.""Is this for real? I didn't do anything. You get a penalty for getting excited? I didn't even swear." The tournament staff claimed they were only doing their job.Matusow was visibly upset by the ruling almost to the point of tears. Some players, such as Joe Tehan and Owais Ahmed came to his defense, while others like Robert Mizrachi and Matt Lefkowitz tried their best to calm Matusow down and get him refocused.In the meanwhile, Tahmasebi went to the payout desk to collect $7,784 for his 24th place finish.




One of the most influential voices in the poker community offered a strong rebuttal against the ruling of Mike and his excessive celebration on a crucial winning hand... Daniel Negreanu authored a blog post to address the issue while making the following statements
Daniels Blog

:I need to speak up, and speak out against a decision made by a floorman at the WSOP ... For the sake of argument, let's just say that Mike was guilty of excessive celebration according to the TDA rules. How in the world can you justify such a harsh penalty without issuing a simple warning prior to that decision? A simple, 'Hey Mike, you have been warned. If you do that again you will get a one round penalty for excessive celebration.' ... This is consistent with a major problem I have with quite a few of the TDA rules that go straight to a penalty without giving the players the benefit of the doubt, and the courtesy of a warning.


Mike Matusow by Live reporting on poker news